Emergency School-Age Care

As Virginia’s COVID-19 landscape continually shifted throughout the pandemic, regional collaboration became paramount to tackle pandemic related challenges. These challenges included the need for more safe learning spaces. In partnership with the Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS), with funding provided by the Governor and the Virginia General Assembly – we collaborated with partners to help provide more safe learning spaces for working families with school-age children.

As a result of our collaboration, regional hubs were created in VDSS-determined, high needs areas to increase the amount of safe learning spaces. These safe learning spaces were designed to support the health and well-being of children, as parents returned to work. 

These Emergency School-Age Care Regions:

Ready Regions for Emergency School Age Care

VECF was honored to work with the Virginia Department of Social Services and Smart Beginnings partners, to offer emergency school-age care to more than 4,500 children at over 250 sites located in high-needs areas during the pandemic.

To learn more about Emergency School-Age Care, email Shekinah@vecf.org.

City of Danville; Pittsylvania Countyinfo@smartbeginningsdp.org
Cities of Emporia, Hopewell, & Petersburg; Dinwiddie, Greensville, Surry, Sussex, and Prince George Countiesanoble@arls.org
Cities of Bristol, Galax, Norton, and Radford; Bland, Buchanan, Carroll, Dickenson, Floyd, Giles, Grayson, Lee, Montgomery, Pulaski, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise, and Wythe Countieskworley@unitedwayswva.org
Cities of Buena Vista, Lexington, Covington, Roanoke, and Martinsville; Rockbridge, Franklin, Alleghany, and Botetourt Countiesdenise@uwrv.org
Charles City, Chesterfield, and Henrico Counties; Cities of Richmond and Colonial Heightsreadyregions@smartbeginningsrva.org
James City County; Cities of Hampton, Newport News, and Williamsburgdumstead@smartbeginningsvp.org
Bedford, Campbell, and Nelson Counties; City of Lynchburgkaren.wesley@unitedwaycv.org 
City of Charlottesville; Albemarle, Fluvanna, Greene, Louisa, Nelson, Madison, and Orange Countiesmlocascio@unitedwaycville.org